Posted by: Julie | April 12, 2011

It’s not a slam at you when people are rude, it’s a slam at the people they’ve met before. – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Come on, really?

Okay, people, tilt your chin waaayyy back, ’cause I’m up on my soap box!

Picture this… Yesterday I’m in the salon getting ash blonde put on my brown roots when this young woman walks in the front door.  She has a cell phone in one hand, a giant Burrito Beach burrito in the other.

Young woman:  “How much do you charge for extensions?”

Owner of the salon – who happens to be taking a break behind the receptionist’s desk:  “It all depends on what type of extensions you’re looking for.”

She doesn’t hear his response because she’s too busy talking on her cell phone and eating her burrito.  Finally, with a look of complete exasperation, she turns back to the salon owner.

Young woman: “Well?”

Owner: “I’ll wait until you’ve finished with your call.”

Young woman: “I just want to know the cost of extensions.”

Owner: “And it’s a complicated answer.  I’ll wait until you’ve finished with your call.”

Young woman:  “What?  You don’t want my business?”

Owner: “No, ma’am.  I don’t think I do.”

Needless to say, the woman shoots her nose in the air and charges back through the front door, her resounding “Hmph!” and a few of her ruffled feathers the only evidence she’s been there at all.

As I’m cheering, the owner turns to me and, sadly shaking his head, he says, “Now she’ll go on-line and post a review saying how rude I was.”

It struck me then… he’s absolutely right.

That young woman was completely oblivious to the fact that she was the obnoxious one, with her duel conversations and brazenly divided attention.  So, that begs the question:  Have we grown so used to technology, with being able to connect and converse with more than one person in a single instant, that we’ve let it interfere with good, old-fashioned, common courtesy?

Answer:  Yes.  Unfortunately, I think we have.

So, in the name of good, old-fashioned, common courtesy, I’ve compiled Julie’s Eight Commandments of Cell Phone Etiquette.  Drum roll, please… er, burning bush, please…?

1.)  Thou shalt not talk on thy cell phone while engaged in face-to-face conversation. Come on, folks.  It’s all about direct human interaction.  We remember what that is, don’t we?

2.)  Thou shalt not text on thy cell phone while engaged in face-to-face conversation. For validation of this point, refer to commandment number one.

3.)  Thou shalt not talk loudly in public. We all know the conversation you’re having is super important.  No need to broadcast it at 100 decibels.  “Can you hear me now?”  “Yes! But we wish we couldn’t!”

4.)  Thou shalt not talk about personal topics while in public. You know the types I’m talking about.  “Oh, my gawd, girl!  He was, like, all ____!  And I was, like, all _____!”

5.)  Thou shalt put thy ringer on silent/buzz while dining out. There’s nothing worse than enjoying some good food, fine wine, and stimulating conversation with family and friends, only to be interrupted by a loud, tinny-sounding version of the Black-Eyed-Peas … tonight’s gonna be a good night…’cause tonight’s gonna be a good, good night… “Well, it was, but because of your cacophonous ringtone, I’ve lost my train of thought.  Thank you, you giant dill-hole!”

6.)  Thou shalt not check thy phone while in a movie theater. I don’t care if you’re ringer is off.  Lighting up that blasted screen is distracting as H-E-double hockey sticks!

7.)  Thou shalt not text while driving. Statistics prove this is a no-brainer. So that’s all I’ll say (Mishell)…

8.)  Thou shalt be mindful of Facebook tagging. Yes, I know you look fantastic in that photo, but I look like Quasimoto.  So thanks for making sure all my Facebook pals get to see it.

 

Let me know if you agree, disagree, or have more commandments to add…

Leave a Reply

Categories

